Clarke Awardees

Arthur C. Clarke Award winners exemplify the broad expanse of themes and initiatives undertaken in the name of Sir Arthur, and reflect the continuing growth of the Foundation and its mission.


To celebrate Arthur C Clarke’s unique life and accomplishments the Foundation has established the Arthur C. Clarke Awards to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the fields of satellite communications, the sciences, and arts.  The Foundation may award on annual basis the “Arthur C Clarke Innovator’s Award” and the “Arthur C Clarke Lifetime Achievement Award”.  The Foundation also presents, usually, in conjunction with these awards the Arthur C. Clarke Lecture.

The “Arthur C. Clarke Innovator’s Award”
This award recognizes:  Initiatives or new inventions that had recent impact on or hold particular promise for satellite communications and society and stand as distinguished examples of innovative thinking.

The recipient would normally be an individual who is 40 or below in age.

The Arthur C. Clarke Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes an individual, a group or an entity that exemplifies the values and accomplishments of Sir Arthur’s life.  The award honors substantial and endure contributions that relate the sciences and arts in meeting the challenges of contemporary life of the needs of tomorrow.

To submit a nomination for either award please send the Foundation a letter. Please indicate whether the nomination is for “Innovator’s Award” or the “Lifetime Achievement Award”.  The letter should describe in detail the justification in support of the nomination and include a curriculum vita tor the nominee or the nominees.  Each submission should be signed by two nominators.

Nominations are evaluated by an independent selection committee that includes TakasiIlda Director General of the Communications Research Lab of Japan, and Conny Kullman, Chairman of Intelsat.  The awards are made possible through generous donations from corporations and individuals around the world.

2017 Awards

Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Stephen Hawking, PhD, Theoretical physicist, cosmologist, author and Cambridge professor

Award for Imagination in Service to Society:
Kim Stanley Robinson, Author of science fiction, including the Mars trilogy

​Award for Innovator:
John Hendricks, Founder and former Chairman of Discovery Communications, Founder and Chairman of CuriosityStream

Conference and Awards Program

Stephen Hawking, PhD

Stephen Hawking, PhD

Award for Lifetime Achievement

Theoretical physicist, cosmologist, author and Cambridge professor

2016 Awards

Award for Lifetime Achievement:
The National Aeronautical and Space Administration (NASA)

Award for Imagination in Service to Society:
Bran Ferren, co-founder and chief executive officer of Applied Minds

Award for Innovator:
Jeffrey P. Bezos, President, Chief Executive Officer, and Chairman of the Board

2015 Awards

Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Lockheed Martin’s Skunk Works, site of famed technological achievements and breakthroughs including pivotal aerospace milestones, for decades of imaginative technology and energy engineering

Award for Imagination in Service to Society:
Margaret Atwood, Canadian poet, novelist, literary critic, and environmental activist

Award for Innovator:
Greg Wyler, founder of OneWeb and O3b, for pioneering new approaches to satellite communications

2014 Awards

Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Hon. Norman Augustine, World renowned leader in the U.S. Government and National Space Industry

Award for Imagination in Service to Society:
Larry Niven, Author of Science Fiction and Fantasy Works for adults and children

Award for Innovator:
Skybox Imaging, Groundbreaking space imaging leader which has embraced the new, small satellite technology

2013 Awards

Award for Lifetime Achievement:
Fred Ordway III, Engineer, Professor and Technical Consultant to Stanley Kubrick

Award for Imagination in Service to Society:
Ursula Le Guin, Author of Science Fiction and Fantasy Works for adults and children

Award for Innovator:
Mark Dankberg, Co-founder, Chairman and CEO of ViaSat

2012 Awards

Lifetime Achievement:
Vinton G. Cerf, widely known as one of the “Fathers of the Internet.” Cerf is the co-inventor of the architecture and the basic protocols of the Internet.

Sir Ken Robinson, PhD, was selected by the Foundation as its first-ever Imagination honoree. An internationally recognized leader in the development of education, creativity and innovation, Sir Ken works with governments in Europe, Asia, and the United States, with international agencies, Fortune 500 companies and some of the world’s leading cultural organizations.

​Award for Innovator:
Pradman Kaul, CEO Of Hughes Network Systems, for his sustained leadership in advancing satellite communications.

Arthur C. Clarke Innovator’s Award:

2011: Elon Musk, founder of PayPal, SpaceX and Tesla, for his ambitious career-long pursuit of three “important problems” near and dear to the heart of Sir Arthur Clarke – the Internet, clean energy, and space.

2010: Guiliano Berretta, for inspirational leadership in the evolution of European telecommunications.

2009: Steven Squyres for pioneering work in the exploration of the planet Mars.

2007/2008: Peter Diamandis, for pioneering work in the promotion of personal spaceflight (Cosmos Club)

2006: Robert T. Bigalow, for pioneering development of versatile space habitats (Cosmos Club)

2005: Dr. Brad Edwards, for creating a company and taking the lead in the design of a space elevator that could move cargo to the Clarke Orbit from the Earth’s Surface 2005 (Cosmos Club)

2003: DK. Sachdev and Joseph Campanella, for designing and implementing the world’s first audio broadcasting satellite (Kreeger Art Museum 2003)


The Arthur C. Clarke Lifetime Achievement Award

2011: Freeman Dyson, Ph.D. renown physicist and mathematician, for his exceptional career across multiple disciplines, including quantum electrodynamics, invention of the Dyson series, his 20th Century work in the use of nuclear power for space flight, and design of the TRIGA, a small, inherently safe nuclear reactor used throughout the world for the production of isotopes.

2010: Simon P. “Pete” Worden, for pioneering work in astrophysics, and in military and civilian space missions.

2009: Ray Kurzweil, for lifetime achievement as an inventor and futurist in computer-based technologies

2007/2008: David W. Thompson, for visionary leadership in creative space systems and missions (Cosmos Club)

2006: Walter Cronkite, for bringing the wonders of space into our lives (Cosmos Club)

2005: Ben Bova, Noted Science Fiction Writer (Cosmos Club)

2004: Claude Goumy, former Chairman of the Board of Marconi-Matra, Founder of EADS (Cosmos Club)

2003: Rober Berry, Chairman of the Board, Space Systems, Loral (Kreeger Art Museum)

2002: Santiago Astrain, first Director General of Intelsat (Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum)

Watch the 2019 Awards Program