The Arthur C. Clarke Foundation proudly presents the 2022

Unleash Imagination

Shape the Future

Arthur C. Clarke Awards and the
Clarke Conversation on Imagination

November 16, 2022

Embassy of France, Washington, D.C.
Reception, Dinner, and Awards Program

Sponsorship Opportunities Are Now Available! Contact Paul Julin:

Innovator Awardee

Esther Dyson

Investor, journalist, author, commentator, and philanthropist with special introduction by Vinton Cerf

Lifetime Achievement Awardee

Francis Collins

Physician-geneticist and Human Genome Project Leadership with special introduction by Anne Schuchat

Imagination in SCience to Society Awardee

Cory Doctorow

Science fiction author, journalist and technology activist

Sponsorship Opportunities Are Now Available! Contact Paul Julin:

The 2022 Arthur C. Clarke Awards and the Clarke Conversation on Imagination

Steve Scully | Moderator

We so look forward to gathering together for this social evening of cocktails and dinner conversations, the always inspiring Arthur C. Clarke awards program, and a panel discussion with our three awardees.

Moderated by Steve Scully, our awardee trio will take on the Clarke Conversation on Imagination, sharing insight, ideas and perspectives to widen our gaze on how we can all imagine and contribute to a better tomorrow.

Whether you’re joining us virtually or live in Washington DC, take a minute to get to know this year’s exceptional awardees and our special guests making their introductions:

Introducing the 2022
Arthur C. Clarke Awardees

The Sir Arthur Clarke Lifetime Achievement Awardee

Dr. Francis Collins, M.D., Ph.D.

for his exceptional contributions as a Physican-Geneticist, and for his Human Genome Leadership

Dr. Collins is a physician-geneticist noted for his landmark discoveries of disease genes and his previous leadership of the international Human Genome Project, which culminated in April 2003 with the completion of a finished sequence of the human DNA instruction book.

He previously served as the 16th Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), appointed by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the Senate in 2009. In 2017, President Donald Trump asked Dr. Collins to continue to serve as the NIH Director. President Joe Biden did the same in 2021. For those 12 years, serving an unprecedented three administrations, Dr. Collins oversaw the work of the largest supporter of biomedical research in the world, spanning the spectrum from basic to clinical research.

Introduction and special remarks by
Dr. Collins friend and colleague, Anne Schuchat
Dr. Schuchat Bio

The Sir Arthur Clarke Imagination in Service to Society Awardee

Cory Doctorow

for his imaginative Science Fiction creations, and exceptional Journalism and Technology Activism.

The awardee for Imagination in Service to Society is a science fiction novelist, journalist and technology activist. Mr. Doctorow is also a special consultant to the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), a non-profit civil liberties group that defends freedom in technology law, policy, standards and treaties. He holds an honorary doctorate in computer science from the Open University (UK), where he is a Visiting Professor. He is an MIT Media Lab Research Affiliate and a Visiting Professor of Practice at the University of North Carolina’s School of Library and Information Science.

In 2007, he served as the Fulbright Chair at the Annenberg Center for Public Diplomacy at the University of Southern California.

In 2020, he was inducted into the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. He has won the Locus, Prometheus, Copper Cylinder, White Pine and Sunburst Awards, and been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula and British Science Fiction Awards.

Introduction and special remarks by
friend and colleague, Erik Viirre.
Dr. Viirre Bio

The Sir Arthur Clarke Innovator’s Awardee

Esther Dyson

for her incomparable leadership and vision as an Internet Policy Pioneer and Investor, Journalist, Author, Commentator and Philanthropist.

As a member of the National Information Infrastructure Advisory Council (NIIAC), chair of the Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF), and founding chairman of ICANN, Esther Dyson has helped mediate and inform public policy regarding privacy, encryption, trust, and the assignment of Internet domain names.

Ms. Dyson has been widely regarded as one of the most influential voices in technology policy for more than three decades. Though she is now mostly focused on human well-being and health (through the 10-year nonprofit community health and equity project she founded in 2014, Wellville), she is returning her gaze to Internet governance as the world approaches Web 3.0. She hopes to help it avoid the governance issues she saw clearly in Web 2.0.

Dyson continues to invest in start-up Internet companies and to serve on various boards that seek to influence public attitudes and policy.

Introduction and special remarks by
Ms. Dyson’s friend and colleague, Vinton Cerf
Dr. Cerf Bio