Sponsorship Opportunities Are Now Available! Contact Monica Morgan: mojomo@verizon.net

Join us for the 2021
Arthur C. Clarke Awards and the Clarke Conversation on Imagination

Unleash Imagination is a social evening of conversation, dinner and a panel discussion with our three Arthur C. Clarke awardees. Together they will take on the Clarke Conversation on Imagination where they will share insight, ideas and perspectives to widen our gaze on how we can all contribute to a better tomorrow. We are especially excited that this year’s event is in person at the beautiful French Embassy in Washington, D.C.

Please get to know our 2021 awardees below, and watch for future emails to secure a place at the reception, dinner and program, or to support this exciting event with a corporate or personal sponsorship. Please contact Monica Morgan at: mojomo@verizon.net for information on the many sponsorship opportunities.

Introducing the 2021
Arthur C. Clarke Awardees

Sir Arthur Clarke Lifetime Achievement Awardee

Dr. Michio Kaku

for Exceptional Contributions as a
Theoretical Physicist, Futurist, and Science Popularizer

Dr. Michio Kaku is one of the world’s most widely recognized figures in science today. He has written several international best sellers, and five New York Times Best-Sellers including his latest The God Equation: The Quest for the Theory of Everything and Future of Humanity, and The Future of the Mind.

Dr. Kaku is the science correspondent for national CBS This Morning, and his weekly science radio show reaches 100 U.S. cities. He has also hosted numerous science specials on the Discovery Channel, Science Channel, and BBC-TV, and has appeared on the David Letterman Show, Good Morning America, Today Show, CBS Late Show with Stephen Colbert, HBO, Stephen Colbert Report, CNN, the History Channel, PBS-TV, National Geographic, and all the major news media.

He was recently chosen as “one of the most influential physicists in the world today” by Academic Influence. His goal is to complete Einstein’s dream of a “theory of everything,” to derive an equation, perhaps no more than one inch long, which will summarize all the physical laws of the universe.

He is a professor of theoretical physics in the City College of New York and CUNY Graduate Center.

The Sir Arthur Clarke Imagination in Service to Society Awardee

Samuel R. Delany

for Outstanding Contributions to Fiction, Criticism and Essays on Science Fiction, Literature and Society

Samuel R. Delany, whom everyone calls Chip is an award winning writer of fiction, memoir, criticism and essays on science fiction, literature, sexuality, and society, and a former University professor. In 2016, he was inducted into the New York State Writers Hall of Fame.

Mr. Delany is the author of Babel 17, Nova, Dhalgren, Dark Reflections, Atlantis: Three Tales, the Return to Nevèrÿon series, an autobiography, The Motion of Light in Water, and the paired essays Times Square Red/Times Square Blue. Dark Reflections won the Stonewall Book Award for 2008, and in 2015 he won the Nicolas Guillén Award for Philosophical Literature, and in 1997 the Kessler Award for LGBTQ Studies.

Mr. Delany has won four Nebula Awards from the Science Fiction Writers of America, and two Hugo Awards from the World Science Fiction Convention. In 2013, he was made a Grand Master of Science Fiction, following in the steps of Asimov, Heinlein, and Le Guin.

The Sir Arthur Clarke Innovator’s Awardee

for Inspiring TV Programs that Demonstrate the Role of Science in Uncovering Nature’s Wonders

NOVA is the most watched prime time science series on U.S. television, as well as a multimedia, multiplatform enterprise, reaching more than 55 million Americans every year on TV and online. In its 48th season, with over 900 episodes aired on PBS, NOVA remains committed to telling in depth science stories that resonate with viewers of all ages and backgrounds including both science journalism and science communication. The program has been recognized with the industry’s most prestigious awards, including 28 Emmys, 26 AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards, 9 George Foster Peabody Awards, and 12 Dupont Columbia Awards. NOVA tells stories that make complex science topics like quantum physics and chemistry accessible to a general audience. They celebrate new scientific discoveries, as well as stories that are centered at the intersection of science, society, and social justice. Accepting on behalf of NOVA are Co-Executive Producers Julie Cort and Chris Schmidt.

Co-Executive Producer NOVA

Julia Cort, together with Co -EP Chris Schmidt, oversees the long running PBS science series NOVA and is committed to making inclusive science documentaries that are accessible to all. During her time with the series, she has contributed to more than one hundred films and miniseries, covering everything from quantum mechanics to genetic engineering to climate change. Ms. Cort’s work has been honored with the George Foster Peabody Award, the National Academies Keck Communication Award, the AAAS Science Journalism Award, the American Institute of Physics Science Writing Award, the Alfred I. duPont Columbia Award and the News & Documentary Emmy.

Co-Executive Producer, NOVA

Chris is an award winning producer and director of documentaries and factual television series. Primarily focused on long form films, Chris oversees NOVA’s development team in creating new multihour projects in collaboration with U.S. filmmakers and international co producers. Since joining NOVA in 2012 he has developed and contributed to more than 100 ground breaking films and series including The Planets, Black Hole Apocalypse, Great Math Mystery, Einstein’s Quantum Riddle Eclipse Over America, Making North America, Hunting The Elements, Making Stuff, and Cyberwar Threat. His work has received the prestigious Alfred I. DuPont Columbia University Award, the AAAS Gold Kavli Science Journalism award, the Cine Golden Eagle and many nominations for the News and Documentary Emmy Award.


Walda W. Roseman