May 7, 2015
by admin
Comments Off

Arthur C. Clarke Award for “Station Eleven”

Congratulations to author Emily St. John Mandel in winning the Arthur C. Clarke Award for her novel “Station Eleven.”

Emily St. John Mandel (Photo credit: Dese'Rae L. Stage)

Emily St. John Mandel (Photo credit: Dese’Rae L. Stage)


Via The Guardian

Station Eleven, Emily St John Mandel’s haunting tale of a global pandemic that wipes out civilisation, has won this year’s Arthur C Clarke award for science fiction.

The novel interweaves a story set in Year Twenty after the “Georgia Flu” has killed almost all humanity with flashbacks to the final days of civilisation. By focusing on a troupe of travelling actors and musicians bringing Shakespeare to America’s isolated survivors in the aftermath of disaster, Mandel explores the power of memory and the human need for art and culture. Continue Reading →