Joseph A. Flaherty, Director

Joseph A. Flaherty, Director

April 4, 2012

Joe Flaherty joined CBS in 1957 as a Design Engineer and television technology has been his lifelong career. Today he is CBS Senior Vice President Technology, and in his CBS career he has been responsible for many television technology innovations including, Electronic Cinematography, the introduction of off-line videotape editing, one-inch videotape, Plumbicon cameras, miniature color cameras, and is the technologist most responsible for the development and introduction of the Electronic News Gathering (ENG) system, now in Worldwide use, and for the introduction and growth of High Definition Television in the United States.

He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC), and is the CBS Representative at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) in Geneva Switzerland. He is Past Chairman of the Technical Committee of the North American Broadcasters Association and of the Chairman of the Planning Subcommittee of the FCC’s Advisory Committee on Advanced Television Service that developed the ATSC HDTV standard.

He is an Honorary Member of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE), and was its Vice President for Television Affairs, Financial Vice President, and Executive Vice President. He is a Fellow of the British Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE), a Fellow of the Royal Television Society of the United Kingdom, a Fellow of the Chinese Institute of Electronics, an Honorary Member of the German engineering society Fernseh-Kinotechnischen Gesellschaft (FKTG), a member of the French Societe des Electriciens et des Radiolectriciens (SEE), and an Honorary Members of the Institute of Television Engineers of Japan.

He is the recipient of the SMPTE David Sarnoff Gold Medal for progress in television engineering, and was awarded an Emmy Award for the development of Electronic Newsgathering (ENG), an Emmy Award for electronic editing systems for programs produced on film, an Emmy Award for the and installation of the first Digital Computer Automation System for television, a Personal Emmy Award for Achievement in Contributions to the Development and Improvement of the Science
and Technology of Television, and a personal Emmy Achievement Emmy Award from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in Hollywood. He received the Montreux Achievement Gold Medal for the development of Electronic Newsgathering, the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Engineering Award, the SMPTE Progress Medal Award, and the Consumer Electronics Association (CE) Hall of Fame.

He was decorated an Officer de l’Ordre National de la Legion d’Honneur by French President Jacques Chirac, and was decorated a Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the Republic of France.